The Wonderful World of Blogging

I’m thrilled to be invited to do a guest blog today. I had no idea how to even be a guest but soon found out that an invitation must be issued and I happily accepted. Then there was the question as to what to write about. I asked my host and he suggested I write about a movie or a good book. I haven’t been to a movie since I saw the “Entourage Movie” a month ago with my husband. I read books constantly so to pick just one is difficult.

If you liked the show Entourage then you would love the movie and we did. The characters were exactly the same and it was a wonderfully funny and entertaining way to start the summer. Like the television show, it is based on Donnie Wahlberg’s life story about getting started in Hollywood. He, his brother and 2 close friends went down together all expecting or hoping to get movie contracts and live the Hollywood lifestyle. It took a little while but with the help of their crazy agent, Ari, the main character, Vincent Chase (the Donnie Wahlberg character played by Adrian Grenier)  does land a few parts and indeed does become a rising movie star. He and his buddies all live together in a mansion and attend wild parities and try to fit into the lives of the rich and famous. The movie had hundreds of cameo appearances from some very famous stars and it was funny to see them. It was a light comical movie, perfect for summer entertainment.

The last book I read that I really enjoyed was “Coming Ashore” by Catherine Gildiner. This book is the third of a trilogy. The first 2 books were “Too Close To The Falls” and “After The Falls”. I loved all three books. They are memoirs of Cathy’s very zany and unconventional childhood, teen years and finally University and young adulthood. I had the pleasure of meeting the author, Cathy, when she came to our book club a few years ago after we had read her first book. All the members of our club enjoyed the book and it was a thrill to have dinner with her. When her second book was launched a few of us went to the party. It was held in a big old house that was converted into a pub. The theme was the ’60’s since the setting of her teen years was that era. Hamburgers, French fries and ice cream sundaes were served while the groovy music of the 60’s played. It was a memorable evening. I couldn’t wait to read the book and again I was waiting for the 3rd one. None of them disappointed. I highly recommend them.

8 thoughts on “The Wonderful World of Blogging

  1. Pingback: Before my next post… | Cathy Lynn Brooks

  2. Pingback: Review: “Coming Ashore”, Cruserbladezz

Leave a Reply

