Oddworld: New ‘n’ Tasty by Oddworld Inhabitants/Just Add Water (PS4)

Now that I’ve finished this game (and no, it didn’t take me this long to do it!), I think it’s time for a review. New ’N’ Tasty is a remake of 1997’s PlayStation hit Oddworld: Abe’s Oddysee and everyone knows the story but just in case you don’t, let me run over the basics for you. During his night run as floor waxer for RuptureFarms, Abe overhears a plot by his Glukkon masters to turn him and his enslaved Mudokon brothers into RuptureFarms’ latest tasty treats called “Mudokon Pops”. It is at this point, Abe decides he must make a desperate bid for freedom and rescue his brothers along the way. This leads to an adventure of epic proportions where he discovers the rich heritage of his people and gains the means necessary to destroy RuptureFarms.
New ’N’ Tasty is not just a remake or reimagining or a HD re-release of the original but rather a total and complete overhaul. The game stays true to the original while adding some new sections into it. Unlike the original, there are three difficulty settings: Easy, Normal and Hard. Easy and Normal give you a health system while Hard does not, one hit and you’re dead. There are checkpoints in the stages which is strange they were added as you have the option to Quiksave, a la Abe’s Exoddus, I suppose the checkpoints are for those who want to have a more challenging experience. There are now 299 Mudokons to save so playing saviour will be that bit more challenging… but you can be a heartless bastard and leave them all to die, it’s your choice (let me say that I hate people like you). Overall, I like this game and I’d definitely recommend it for fans of the original and newcomers.
Having said that though I have some criticisms. The controller setup is kinda messed up, you use the left stick for movement, pushing it slightly will make Abe walk while pushing it fully will make him run this, for me, led to many fatal mistakes such as running into mines, falling down pits and being hit repeatedly by the swinging boulders in the Paramonian Temple, these obstacles require the precision that a D-pad offers that the left stick does not. I also felt that the checking health could be done by pressing L2 rather than Triangle and Triangle could could’ve been assigned something else. Basically, I wish the option to use original’s control method was there too.
I also had issues with the camera. While it was great to have it scrolling instead of it flipping from scene to scene, it seemed to zoom out at crucial points making me mistime jumps and running into mines,
One thing I was looking forward to do again was possessing Sligs and making them shoot others, making them run into mines and my personal favourite, making them run into pits. Abe’s farts sound better too, now he has squelchers and squeakers. The Alf’s Escape DLC brought a whole new level of challenge to the game as you lead Alf back to safety, the obstacles you will face are extremely difficult (gamers who are quick to anger must avoid this at all costs!) and if he dies, you start off the section again. Still though, he does have that stylish Fez. A patch added old school controls like holding L2 to run and pressing X to hop, I like the whole button to hop thing but it seems to me that holding a button to run thing while using an analog stick is a bit… silly like pushing a boulder up a mountain only to have it roll back down again once reaching the top.

My final verdict:

A truly excellent game that was marred by a few teething problems on my end.

My score: 8 / 10

Leave a Reply

